RCGP presidential election candidates revealed

Four senior GPs have been nominated to replace Professor Mike Pringle as RCGP president later this year ahead of an election in May.

RCGP headquarters at Euston Square (Photo: RCGP)
RCGP headquarters at Euston Square (Photo: RCGP)

Dr Michael Dixon, Dr Colin Hunter, Dr Terry Kemple and Dr Mayur Lakhani will contest the election, which takes place on 5 May.

Writing to RCGP members, college chairwoman Dr Maureen Baker said the quartet were 'excellent nominees'.

'This is really good news for the college, and, in turn, for our patients who will ultimately benefit from the diversity of experience of our democratically elected governing body, which comes together to shape our policies and future direction,' said Dr Baker.

Who are the candidates?

Dr Michael Dixon

Dr Dixon is NHS Alliance chairman, and has been a GP since 1984 at the College Surgery in Cullompton, Devon. He is acting president of NHS Clinical Commissioners, set up to represent CCGs after their creation in 2012, and has held a number of NHS advisory posts.

Dr Colin Hunter

Dr Hunter is chairman of the NICE QOF advisory committee, responsible for shaping and recommending new indicators for the framework, and former honorary chairman of the RCGP - playing a key role in the college's move to its current Euston Square headquarters.

Dr Terry Kemple

Bristol GP Dr Kemple is a GP educationalist and appraiser who has worked in the US, Zambia, New Zealand and Australia. A candidate in the last RCGP presidential election in 2012, Dr Kemple said he supported continuity of care and maintaining the trusting relationship between GPs and patients.

Dr Mayur Lakhani

Dr Lakhani is a former RCGP chairman, who launched a landmark college report backing GP federations. A Leicestershire GP, he is chairman of West Leicestershire CCG and heavily involved in end of life care as chairman of the Dying Matters Coalition.

More details about the candidates will be posted and available on the RCGP's dedicated election microsite ahead of the Tuesday 5 May ballot.

Have you registered with us yet?

Register now to enjoy more articles and free email bulletins


Already registered?

Sign in