RCGP elects revalidation lead as next president

The RCGP's revalidation lead Professor Mike Pringle has been elected as the college's next president.

Professor Mike Pringle: 'Dr Iona Heath will be a very hard act to follow.'
Professor Mike Pringle: 'Dr Iona Heath will be a very hard act to follow.'

Professor Pringle beat five candidates including former GPC chairman Dr John Chisholm and the DH’s clinical lead for quality and productivity Sir John Oldham to take over the top spot from Dr Iona Heath.

He is due to take on his new role at the end of the college’s annual general meeting on 16 November this year. 

Professor Pringle said: ‘I am delighted and honoured to have been elected as the 23rd president of the RCGP. I would like to thank the members who voted for me and who have put their trust and confidence in me. I would also like to thank my fellow candidates for contesting this election in a fair, honest and open way. Dr Iona Heath will be a very hard act to follow but I will do my very best to represent the college and support its members.’

The results of the election which was conducted by the Electoral Reform Services are:

1. Professor Mike Pringle

2. Dr John Chisholm

3. Dr Una Coales

4. Professor Jacky Hayden

5. Dr Terry Kemple

6. Sir John Oldham

Election results for the six council members were also announced today.

The winners are:  

Dr Una Coales

Dr Maureen Baker

Dr Tim Ballard

Dr Terry John

Dr Valerie Wass

Dr Kirsty Baldwin

Ten candidates stood for election and the full results are due to be published on the RCGP’s site shortly. The successful candidates will begin their three year terms of office from 17 November this year.

Have you registered with us yet?

Register now to enjoy more articles and free email bulletins


Already registered?

Sign in