RCGP elections open as candidates unveil video statements

Four candidates standing for election as RCGP president have unveiled video statements as voting opens to decide who will replace Professor Mike Pringle. Watch video statements and read written statements from candidates below before casting your vote.

RCGP: election underway for president and council members
RCGP: election underway for president and council members

Dr Michael Dixon

Dr Dixon is NHS Alliance chairman, and has been a GP since 1984 at the College Surgery in Cullompton, Devon. He is acting president of NHS Clinical Commissioners, set up to represent CCGs after their creation in 2012, and has held a number of NHS advisory posts. Click here to read a statement from Dr Dixon.

Dr Colin Hunter

Dr Hunter is former chairman of the NICE QOF advisory committee, responsible for shaping and recommending new indicators for the framework, and former honorary treasurer of the RCGP - playing a key role in the college's move to its current Euston Square headquarters. He is currently chair of the RCGP trustees. Click here to read a statement from Dr Hunter.

Dr Terry Kemple

Bristol GP Dr Kemple is a GP educationalist and appraiser who has worked in the US, Zambia, New Zealand and Australia. A candidate in the last RCGP presidential election in 2012, Dr Kemple said he supported continuity of care and maintaining the trusting relationship between GPs and patients. Click here to read a statement from Dr Kemple.

Dr Mayur Lakhani

Dr Lakhani is a former RCGP chairman, who launched a landmark college report backing GP federations. A Leicestershire GP, he is chairman of West Leicestershire CCG and heavily involved in end of life care as chairman of the Dying Matters Coalition. Click here to read a statement from Dr Lakhani.

More details about the candidates - who will take up their posts from November - are available on the RCGP's dedicated election microsite. The election runs from 5 May until midday on 31 May.

Voting is also underway for six nationally-elected council member seats. The candidates are Dr Tim Ballard, Dr James Cave, Dr John Chisholm, Dr Nadim Fazlani, Dr Holly Hardy, Dr Ben Jackson, Dr Terry John, Dr Philip Leftley, Professor Martin Marshall, Dr Steve Mowle, Dr Bashir Qureshi, Dr Narveshwar Sinha and Dr Anwar Tufail.

Have you registered with us yet?

Register now to enjoy more articles and free email bulletins


Already registered?

Sign in