RCGP chair candidates publish election statements

The four candidates to replace outgoing RCGP chairwoman Dr Maureen Baker have published statements supporting their bid to win an election that takes place at this month's RCGP council meeting.

RCGP headquarters in Euston Square, London
RCGP headquarters in Euston Square, London

Wiltshire GP and current RCGP vice chair for external affairs Dr Tim Ballard, Essex GP and RCGP council member Dr Sunil Gupta, London GP and RCGP council member Professor Martin Marshall and Lichfield GP and current RCGP treasurer Dr Helen Stokes Lampard are the candidates for the role.

The quartet set out pledges to reinvigorate the college membership and attract a new generation of members, to ensure that GP Forward View investment materialises and tackle the GP crisis.

The new chair will take up the post from November 2016. Should Dr Stokes-Lampard be elected, the college would have its third female chair in a row, a remarkable turnaround after 50 years of male chairs until the election of Dr Clare Gerada in 2010.

Key pledges from RCGP chair candidates

Dr Tim Ballard

  • Making the college 'more relevant to and valued by' members
  • Free access to all types of CPD for college members
  • Develop a college-led professional quality scheme for practices to reduce current regulatory burden

Dr Sunil Gupta

  • Work to ensure GP Forward View pledges are implemented
  • Ensure resources reach front line to enable GPs to work safe hours and improve patient safety

Professor Martin Marshall

  • Tackle GP crisis through ensuring rapid delivery of promised new funding
  • Develop a 'comprehensive quality improvement offer' for RCGP members

Dr Helen Stokes-Lampard

  • Fight for general practice, rebuild professional self-respect
  • Work to ensure 'substantially increased' funding and numbers of clinicians

Read the candidates' supporting statements in full

Have you registered with us yet?

Register now to enjoy more articles and free email bulletins


Already registered?

Sign in