Race to become RCGP president begins

Voting opens today in the three-candidate race to become the RCGP's next president when Professor David Haslam steps down.

The three candidates are:

  • South London GP Dr Una Coales whose manifesto is at www.drunacoales.com and presented Channel 4's Turn Back Your Body Clock,
  • North London GP Dr Iona Heath who is also an author, and,
  • South Wales GP Dr Has Joshi who has a background in GP education and worked as a GMC assessor.

The election is open to all RCGP members. The role is largely ceremonial and is not involved in College policy. Unlike other medical Royal Colleges, it is the RCGP chairman whose role is to provide the political, academic and governance overview and leadership of the College.

Ballots are posted this week and voting closes at midday on 29 May. The result will be announced in June. Professor Haslam stands down in November. The post runs for three years.


  • Who should be the next RCGP president and why?

Comment below and tell us what you think

Have you registered with us yet?

Register now to enjoy more articles and free email bulletins


Already registered?

Sign in

Follow Us: