NICE announces new quality standards

NICE will develop nine new quality standards in its latest step towards the planned 150-strong library.

Standards for clinical areas such as breast cancer, diabetes and chronic heart failure will join three existing standards covering stroke, dementia and venous-thromboembolism (VTE) prevention.

The standards will be developed in 2010/11 after they were referred to NICE by the DoH.

NICE quality standards are designed to act as markers of high-quality care across a pathway or clinical areas. The standards will be linked to indicators to enable assessments of quality and quality improvement to be undertaken.

Dr Fergus Macbeth, director of the Centre for Clinical Practice Director at NICE, said: ‘NICE quality standards provide the NHS and the public with clear statements and associated measures, which will be used to assess existing practice and improve future services.

'They will focus on outcomes of care, as well as patient experience and cost effectiveness.’

New standards will be developed for:

  • Breast cancer
  • Type-1 and -2 diabetes
  • Chronic kidney disease
  • End-of-life care
  • Glaucoma
  • Depression
  • Chronic heart failure
  • Alcohol dependence (treatment only, not primary prevention or causation)
  • Chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD)

Have you registered with us yet?

Register now to enjoy more articles and free email bulletins


Already registered?

Sign in