NHS England names 64 CCGs approved for full co-commissioning powers

Nearly a third of CCGs will be handed fully delegated primary care commissioning powers from April, NHS England has announced.

Amanda Doyle: 'Co-commissioning is step on path to a more joined up, high quality service.' Pic: UNP
Amanda Doyle: 'Co-commissioning is step on path to a more joined up, high quality service.' Pic: UNP

The 64 CCGs which have been approved to take full control of general practice contracts in their areas have been named.

Earlier this month at the Commissioning Primary Care 2015 conference, organised by GP's sister site Inside Commissioning, NHS England's head of commissioning development Dr Julia Simon said that 77 CCGs had applied for the delegated model, which hands full commissioning powers to CCGs.

The move follows plans set out by NHS England chief executive Simon Stevens to give local health economies more control to plan and develop services.

CCGs with delegated powers will manage contracts, including designing PMS and APMS deals, take contractual action such as serving remedial notices and removing contracts, and will have power over locally agreed and nationally set enhanced services - LESs and DESs - and the design of local QOF alternatives. They will be able to establish new practices, approve mergers and award discretionary payments.

NHS England primary care co-commissioning programme oversight group co-chairwoman Dr Amanda Doyle, said: ‘Giving GP-led CCGs more influence over the wider NHS budget, will enable a shift in investment from acute to primary and community services and to enable money to follow the patient. The introduction of co-commissioning is another strong step on the path to provide a more joined up, high quality service for the future.’

National director for commissioning strategy at NHS England Ian Dodge added: ‘Today we are backing 64 CCGs who have asked NHS England for full delegated powers to improve local primary care, within a transparent and robust framework for managing conflicts of interest. It is a vote of confidence in CCGs. It is part of our commitment to deliver a new deal for primary care. And it's a critical step towards joining up the commissioning system, which in turn will help unlock new models of integrated care described in the NHS Five Year Forward View.’

CCGs  which will take on one of the two other models - joint arangements, and greater involvement - are yet to be anounced.

NHS England said one further CCG had been approved pending changes to governance arrangements.

The approved CCGs:


  • NHS Sunderland CCG
  • NHS North Durham CCG
  • NHS Durham Dales, Easington And Sedgefield CCG
  • NHS East Lancashire CCG
  • NHS Greater Preston CCG
  • NHS Chorley And South Ribble CCG
  • NHS Blackpool CCG
  • NHS Fylde & Wyre CCG
  • NHS Blackburn With Darwen CCG
  • NHS Bradford City CCG
  • NHS Bradford Districts CCG
  • NHS Calderdale CCG
  • NHS Wakefield CCG
  • NHS Scarborough And Ryedale CCG
  • NHS Harrogate And Rural District CCG
  • NHS Vale Of York CCG
  • NHS Barnsley CCG
  • NHS Rotherham CCG
  • NHS St Helens CCG
  • NHS Liverpool CCG
  • NHS Knowsley CCG
  • NHS Halton CCG
  • NHS Oldham CCG
  • NHS Wigan Borough CCG

Midlands and East

  • NHS South Warwickshire CCG
  • NHS South Worcestershire CCG
  • NHS Birmingham Crosscity CCG
  • NHS Sandwell And West Birmingham CCG
  • NHS Dudley CCG
  • NHS Birmingham South And Central CCG
  • NHS Telford & Wrekin CCG
  • NHS Shropshire CCG
  • NHS North Derbyshire CCG
  • NHS Hardwick CCG
  • NHS Mansfield & Ashfield CCG
  • NHS Newark & Sherwood CCG
  • NHS Nottingham North & East CCG
  • NHS Nottingham West CCG
  • NHS Nottingham City CCG
  • NHS Erewash CCG
  • NHS Rushcliffe CCG
  • NHS Southern Derbyshire CCG
  • NHS Lincolnshire West CCG
  • NHS Lincolnshire East CCG
  • NHS South West Lincolnshire CCG
  • NHS South Lincolnshire CCG
  • NHS East Leicestershire And Rutland CCG
  • NHS Leicester City CCG
  • NHS West Leicestershire CCG
  • NHS Castle Point And Rochford CCG


  • NHS Tower Hamlets CCG
  • NHS Waltham Forest CCG
  • NHS Newham CCG
  • NHS Redbridge CCG
  • NHS Barking & Dagenham CCG
  • NHS Havering CCG


  • NHS Eastbourne, Hailsham And Seaford CCG
  • NHS Hastings & Rother CCG
  • NHS High Weald Lewes Havens CCG
  • NHS South Eastern Hampshire CCG
  • NHS Fareham And Gosport CCG
  • NHS West Hampshire CCG
  • NHS Portsmouth CCG
  • NHS Gloucestershire CCG

Have you registered with us yet?

Register now to enjoy more articles and free email bulletins


Already registered?

Sign in

Before commenting please read our rules for commenting on articles.

If you see a comment you find offensive, you can flag it as inappropriate. In the top right-hand corner of an individual comment, you will see 'flag as inappropriate'. Clicking this prompts us to review the comment. For further information see our rules for commenting on articles.

comments powered by Disqus