GPs run for BMA council deputy chairman post

Two GPs are among the candidates in the running to be the deputy chairman of the BMA council.

Dr Fay Wilson: running for year-long role
Dr Fay Wilson: running for year-long role

The candidates for the year-long role are Birmingham GP Dr Fay Wilson, retired Greater Manchester GP Dr Kailash Chand and chair of the BMA junior doctors committee Dr Tom Dolphin.

BMA council members have until 31 August to cast votes.

The role has been vacant since Dr Kate Bullen, a staff and associate specialist doctor, stepped down at the BMA’s annual representative meeting in June. Deputy chairs can be re-appointed for an aggregate term of office for five years, provided they are still a member of the council.

A new council chairman consultant Dr Mark Porter took over in June.

Last month the GPC lost its only female negotiator Dr Beth McCarron-Nash after the committee voted in the outgoing GPC Scotland chairman Dr Dean Marshall.

Dr Kailash Chand

Have you registered with us yet?

Register now to enjoy more articles and free email bulletins


Already registered?

Sign in