GPs feature on new GMC Council

Two GPs have been appointed to the reconstituted GMC Council which has 12 medical and 12 lay members.

Sir Graeme Catto
Sir Graeme Catto

The GPs are Dr Sam Everington, a BMA Council member from Bromley-by-Bow in east London, and Dr Malcolm Lewis, a GP in Wales who is also chairman of the UK Committee of GP Postgraduate Deans and Directors.

The team, chosen by the Appointments Commission, takes office on 1 January 2009.

GMC president Sir Graeme Catto will continue to chair the GMC until 30 June 2009, when the Council will elect a member to succeed him.

Sir Graeme said: ‘I would like to pay tribute to the dedication and hard work of current Council members. During a period of great change, they have provided the strong and effective leadership that was required to deliver the GMC’s statutory purpose - to protect, promote and maintain the health and safety of the public by ensuring proper standards in the practice of medicine. We owe them a great deal.’

Comment below and tell us what you think

Have you registered with us yet?

Register now to enjoy more articles and free email bulletins


Already registered?

Sign in

Follow Us: