GPC prepares to elect new leaders

GPC members will elect a new political leadership for the profession at a committee meeting today.

BMA: GPC to elect new leaders
BMA: GPC to elect new leaders

Three negotiating positions are being contested alongside the position of chair vacated by Dr Laurence Buckman, who steps today down after 16 years on the GPC negotiating team and six years as chairman of the committee.

Election results are expected sometime after midday.

Candidates for the top job include an all-women joint bid by Londonwide LMCs chief executive Dr Michelle Drage and Birmingham GP Dr Fay Wilson, chief executive at out-of-hours provider Badger.

Current deputy chairman Dr Richard Vautrey, and negotiators Dr Dean Marshall and Dr Chaand Nagpaul complete the shortlist.

Seven candidates are contesting the three negotiating seats. The candidates are Devon LMC’s Dr Mark Sanford-Wood, Essex LMCs chief executive Dr Brian Balmer, Gwent GP and former GPC Wales chairman Dr David Bailey, current negotiator and Derbyshire GP Dr Peter Holden, Cornwall GP and former negotiator Dr Beth McCarron-Nash, along with Dr Nagpaul and Dr Vautrey.

Have you registered with us yet?

Register now to enjoy more articles and free email bulletins


Already registered?

Sign in

Follow Us: