GPC executive team set for overhaul after three negotiators stand down

The formation of GPC England will herald a team of fresh faces among GP leaders, after three of the current members of the GPC executive team announced they will not seek re-election.

Dr Beth McCarron, Dr Brian Balmer and Dr Dean Marshall
Dr Beth McCarron, Dr Brian Balmer and Dr Dean Marshall

Dr Beth McCarron, Dr Dean Marshall and Dr Brian Balmer have announced they will not stand again for election onto the GPC executive team, paving the way for a host of new GP leaders onto the inaugural GPC England team.

An appointment process to confirm their replacements is ‘ongoing’, with results expected in September, according to the BMA.

The shake-up coincides with a restructuring of the GPC to allow for the formation of a separate GPC England, which LMC leaders voted in favour of at their annual conference in May.

Dr McCarron, formerly the regional representative for Cornwall and the Isles of Scilly, and Dr Marshall, formerly the representative for Forth Valley/Fife/Lothian/Tayside, have decided to leave the GPC altogether.

GPC England

Dr Balmer will retain his regional seat as representative for the north and south Essex constituency, but will not to stand for another term in an executive role.

The fourth elected executive member and deputy chairman Dr Richard Vautrey is also remaining in the GPC, although his term in the executive has also come to an end. He could be re-elected to the leadership team next month.

GPC chairman Dr Chaand Nagpaul, who has already been re-elected for another term, will also sit on the England executive team.

A BMA spokesman said the exodus was merely a ‘changeover of personnel’, and they had decided to leave for their own reasons as their terms expired.

He added that the advent of GPC England should not cause any major changes to how the GPC operates. However, a slight alteration as a result of the change will see the total number of positions on the executive team drop from four to three.

The BMA did not confirm how many candidates have put themselves forward for the roles, which will be voted for among GPC members. The tenure of those elected onto the executive team will last for two years.

National GPC team

The national UK GPC team will comprise of the three elected onto the England executive team, GPC chairman Dr Nagpaul, Scottish chairman Dr Alan McDevitt, Wales chairwoman Dr Charlotte Jones and Northern Ireland chairman Dr Tom Black.

Dr McCarron and Dr Marshall have already left their posts, while Dr Vautrey and Dr Balmer are remaining on the team during the current transition phase, Dr Vautrey told GPonline.

‘It’s just a transition phase – because we recognised that with the new system we are moving to, we couldn’t all leave Chaand on his own over the summer,’ he said.

‘There will be a new team in place by September, but Brian and I have carried on working with Chaand while that change takes place.'

A BMA spokesman said: ‘The reason we’ve moved forward with a specific team for England is a reflection of the fact there are changes going on in the health service, and there are decisions to be made that will affect England only, and that wasn’t reflected in the old set up.

‘We’re not dismantling the way the national GPC team is set up. The Scottish, Welsh and Northern Ireland GPC leads have always sat in the same room on the same meetings that the other have sat in, and that’s not going to change.’

Have you registered with us yet?

Register now to enjoy more articles and free email bulletins


Already registered?

Sign in