Five GPs recognised in Queen’s honours

Five practising GPs have had their ‘services to healthcare’ recognised in the Queen’s New Year’s Honours list, with four MBEs and one OBE.

Leicester GP Dr Azhar Farooqi is the recipient of an OBE following his work on the NSF group for diabetes and roles at the charity Diabetes UK and the Primary Care Diabetes Society. He said the award was ‘a complete surprise, but a great one.’

MBEs were awarded to Dr Ken Aswani from Leytonstone, east London, Dr Fiona Ford, GP and senior lecturer at East Lancashire Teaching PCT, Middlesbrough GP Dr Iftikhar Lone and Grimsby GP Dr Paul Twomey.

Dr Aswani has worked as a PCT professional executive committee chairman, leading the NHS Alliance’s PEC chair network, and is on the RCGP council. Dr Ford worked on a pilot to deliver computerised CBT for depression patients.

Dr Lone’s was a first-wave practice for PMS and fundholding pilots and Dr Twomey was involved in commissioning pilots in North East Lincolnshire.

Have you registered with us yet?

Register now to enjoy more articles and free email bulletins


Already registered?

Sign in