Eight GPs honoured by Queen

The work of eight senior GPs has earned them a place on the Queen's birthday honours list.

RCGP chairman Professor Mayur Lakhani and Dr Christopher Jones, a GP in Pontypridd, south-east Wales, were made CBEs.

Berkshire GP Dr Raymond Bain, Hampshire GP Dr John Dracass, south London GP Dr Brian Fisher, Lancashire GP Dr David McKinlay and Tyneside GP Dr William Hall were made MBEs.

Nottinghamshire GP Dr Dermott Davison received an OBE.

Leicester GP Dr Lakhani has chaired the RCGP since 2004 and, at 47, is one of the youngest of the 101 people receiving the CBE. 'The award is recognition for all family doctors,' he said.

Dr Jones, chairman of the Rhondda Cynon Taff Local Health Board, said: 'It is very humbling. I have been a GP for 25 years and I am extremely passionate about the NHS. To me it is the single greatest thing that has ever happened to Britain.'

Dr Jones was nominated for the award in recognition of the work he has done to get GPs to come to the area to work.

He said: 'Taff Vale is a former mining village and has high levels of deprivation, but we have attracted young doctors and it is a really good training ground.'

Have you registered with us yet?

Register now to enjoy more articles and free email bulletins


Already registered?

Sign in