Dr Terry Kemple elected as next RCGP president

Dr Terry Kemple has been elected by RCGP members to become president of the college from November.

Dr Terry Kemple: RCGP president-elect
Dr Terry Kemple: RCGP president-elect

Dr Kemple will replace outgoing president Professor Mike Pringle on 20 November after beating off competition for the role from Professor Mayur Lakhani, Dr Colin Hunter and Dr Michael Dixon.

Dr Kemple has been a member of the RCGP council since 2013. He is a practising GP in Bristol, a GP educationalist and an appraiser, and has worked in the US, Zambia, New Zealand and Australia.

GP workload pledge

During his election campaign, Dr Kemple pledged to prioritise three things if elected - reducing unnecessary workload for family doctors, increasing the GP workforce by ensuring medical schools and the NHS are performance managed to achieve the required number of GPs, and finding and spreading the most efficient and effective ways to provide primary care services as quickly as possible.

Election results for six nationally-elected council members have also been announced. The successful candidates are: Dr Holly Hardy, Dr John Chisholm, Dr Martin Marshall, Dr Ben Jackson, Dr Steve Mowle and Dr Tim Ballard.

Watch video election statements from the candidates

Have you registered with us yet?

Register now to enjoy more articles and free email bulletins


Already registered?

Sign in

Follow Us: