DoH unveils new team

The DoH has unveiled its new health team but as GP went to press it was unclear which minister would be responsible for GPs.

Leigh MP Andy Burnham, who previously held that post, earned a promotion to the Cabinet as chief secretary to the Treasury in the reshuffle after Gordon Brown's appointment as prime minister.

As well as new health secretary Johnson, the new ministers of state for health are former paymaster general Dawn Primarolo, the Bristol South MP and Exeter MP Ben Bradshaw, a former department for environment, food and rural affairs minister.

The new parliamentary undersecretaries of state are Brentford and Isleworth MP Ann Keen - a former district nurse - and Professor Sir Ara Darzi, the surgeon who has also been commissioned by NHS London to draft a plan for healthcare in the capital over the next decade expected to be published next week.

Bury South MP Ivan Lewis, previously minister for care services, is the only member of the previous health team to stay.

Details of ministerial responsibilities were expected to be announced as GP went to press.

Comment below and tell us what you think

Have you registered with us yet?

Register now to enjoy more articles and free email bulletins


Already registered?

Sign in