DoH reveals locations of new practices

The DoH has revealed the PCTs in England to receive one new government-funded practice each, probably working to an APMS contract.

Alan Johnson
Alan Johnson

The PCTs are: Manchester, Barking and Dagenham, Knowsley, Sandwell, Wolverhampton City, Heywood, Middleton and Rochdale, Liverpool, Sunderland Teaching, Birmingham East and North, Halton and St Helens, Heart of Birmingham Teaching, Barnsley, Leicester City, Oldham, Blackburn with Darwen, Stoke on Trent, Hounslow, Hull, Nottingham City, Blackpool, Ashton, Leigh and Wigan, Dudley, Bolton, Greenwich Teaching, Sefton, Medway Teaching, Salford, Hartlepool, Tameside and Glossop, Walsall Teaching, Newcastle, Redcar and Cleveland, South Tyneside, Calderdale, North Lancashire, Luton Teaching, Havering and Hammersmith and Fulham.

These are the first practices promised for under-doctored areas by health minister Lord Ara Darzi in his interim NHS review published in October.

The practices will open extended hours and will operate what the DoH is calling extended practice boundaries.

The first practices are expected to open to patients in a year’s time and will be paid for from a £250 million access fund. This will also pay for 150 GP-led health centres.

The announcement was made today by health secretary Alan Johnson at the NHS Alliance conference in Manchester.

View the announcement on the DoH website

Comment below and tell us what you think

Have you registered with us yet?

Register now to enjoy more articles and free email bulletins


Already registered?

Sign in

Follow Us:

Just published

Medical examiners to scrutinise deaths in community settings

The MDU's Dr Kathryn Leask explains how the expansion of the medical examiner system...

Person receiving a COVID-19 booster

COVID-19 booster campaign to start on 5 September, NHS England says

The COVID-19 booster programme will begin in care homes and for housebound patients...

GP consulting room

Nine in ten GPs fear their practice will struggle to cope this winter

Nearly nine in ten GPs fear that their practice will struggle to cope this winter,...

BMA sign

BMA elects new deputy chair of England GP committee and chair of Scottish council

Dr David Wrigley has been elected as new deputy chair of the BMA's GP committee in...

UK money

Almost half of practices say income from private fees has fallen in past year

Almost half of GP practices have seen their income from private and professional...

COVID-19 vaccination centre

BMA raises 'serious concerns' about GP workload and funding for autumn COVID boosters

The BMA has raised 'serious concerns' about the workload implications of this autumn's...