DoH publishes NHS quality indicators

The government has published a list of 'quality indicators' which will be used to measure the performance of NHS community services.

The Quality Framework Guidance for Community Services outlines more than 70 measures, covering areas such as health outcomes, waiting times and perceived quality of life.

These indicators are intended to measure both the quality and the value of community services. They will be tested over the next few months.

Meanwhile, the DoH has also launched six guides to improving community services.  These will offer guidance to staff and managers on how to measure and improve services, and will outline a number of ‘best practice’ examples.

The six new guides cover:

  • health, well-being and reducing inequalities,
  • acute care closer to home,
  • people with long-term conditions,
  • rehabilitation services,
  • services for children, young people and families;
  • end-of-life care.

Comment below and tell us what you think

Have you registered with us yet?

Register now to enjoy more articles and free email bulletins


Already registered?

Sign in

Follow Us: